100 Top Tech Twitter Accounts of 2012 (Categorized)

Hey, I’m Chris. I wrote this article and I’m also the founder and Editor of DailyTekk. Lets connect on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and YouTube. Check back daily!

This post is #4 in DailyTekk’s famous Top 100 series which explores the best startups, gadgets, apps, websites and services in a given category. Total items listed: 110. Time to compile: 8+ hours. Follow @DailyTekk on Twitter to make sure you don’t miss a week!

When I set out to build a list of top tech Twitter accounts to follow, my real goal was to get a nice cross section of the tech world as a whole. I knew there would be no way to possibly fit everyone a person should follow into a list of 100, so I broke it down into 10 categories (and yes, there could have been others, but I had to draw the line somewhere) and pulled together a list of 10 people/companies in each category that would provide a good look at what’s happening there. In other words, this is a top 100 list and not the top 100 list of tech Twitter accounts. If you want to know what’s happening in the tech sector, this list will be a great place to start… just keep adding to it yourself. Actually, there were a few people I was hoping to put on the list but who wouldn’t have been great recommendations since they don’t post very often like Mark Zuckerberg and Peter Thiel. So, for what it’s worth, here’s another one of my completely unscientific lists that I put together as a resource for myself but that I think many others can get some use out of as well. Please let me know what you’re recommendations are for anyone I missed who you feel should have been represented here (or not represented here for that matter).

Also read: The Top 100 Twitter Tools of 2012 (Categorized)

Influencers / Tastemakers / Personalities

  1. Tim O’Reilly – @timoreilly – Founder and CEO of O’Reilly Media.
  2. David Pogue – @pogue – NY Times tech columnist.
  3. Walt Mossburg – @waltmossberg – WSJ tech columnist.
  4. Robert Scoble – @scobleizer – Rackspace employee / uber-geek.
  5. Kevin Rose – @kevinrose – CEO of Milk / Founder of Digg.
  6. Michael Arrington – @arrington – Founder of Techcrunch / investor.
  7. Anil Dash – @anildash – Partner at Activate / Social Media Envoy to the UN.
  8. Om Malik – @om – Founder of GigaOm / Partner at True Ventures.
  9. Veronica Belmont – @veronica – Host of Tekzilla on Revision3.
  10. Bill Gates – @billgates – Microsoft founder.

CEOs / Executives

  1. Jack Dorsey – @jack – Executive Chairman, Twitter / CEO, Square.
  2. Tony Hsieh – @zappos – CEO of Zappos.com
  3. Eric Schmidt – @ericschmidt – Executive Chairman and ex-CEO, Google.
  4. Michael Dell – @michaeldell – CEO, Dell.
  5. Howard Lindzon – @howardlindzon – CEO and co-founder of Stocktwits.
  6. Marc Benioff – @benioff – Chairman and CEO, Salesforce.com.
  7. Richard Branson – @richardbranson – Founder of Virgin Group.
  8. David Sacks – @davidsacks – CEO and founder, Yammer.
  9. Dennis Crowley – @dens – CEO and co-founder, FourSquare.
  10. Hiten Shah – @hnshah – CEO of KISSmetrics.

Venture Capital / Investors

  1. Chris Sacca – @sacca – Investor in Twitter, Instagram.
  2. David Pakman – @pakman – NYC digital media VC at Venrock.
  3. Jason Calacanis – @jason – Entrepreneur, venture capitalist.
  4. Dave McClure – @davemcclure – Founding partner, 500 startups.
  5. Brad Feld – @bfeld – Managing director at Foundry Group.
  6. Max Levchin – @mlevchin – Investor, Yelp / Co-founder, PayPal.
  7. Reid Hoffman – @quixotic – Investor / LinkedIn founder.
  8. John Borthwick – @borthwick – Betaworks CEO.
  9. Bryce Roberts – @bryce – VC with OATV.
  10. Charlie O’Donnell – @ceonyc – VC at Brooklyn Bridge Ventures.

Reporters / Bloggers / Editors

  1. Kara Swisher – @karaswisher – Co-Editor, All Things D.
  2. Joshua Topolsky – @joshuatopolsky – Editor of The Verge.
  3. Chris Anderson – @chr1sa – Editor of Wired magazine.
  4. Erick Schonfeld – @erickschonfeld – Editor of Techcrunch.
  5. Steven Levy – @stevenlevy – Wired senior writer.
  6. Sarah Lacy – @sarahcuda – Founder, PandoDaily.
  7. Peter Rojas – @peterrojas – Founded Gizmodo and Engadget.
  8. Gabe Rivera – @gaberivera – Runs Techmeme.
  9. Ben Parr – @benparr – Former editor of Mashable.
  10. Chris Pirillo – @chrispirillo – Founder, LockerGnome.

Web Design

  1. Jeffrey Zeldman – @zeldman – Author, Designing With Web Standards.
  2. Jason Santa Maria – @jasonsantamaria – Creative director for Typekit.
  3. Dan Cederholm – @simplebits – Co-founder of Dribbble, designer, speaker.
  4. Veerle Pieters – @vpieters – Belgian web designer, blogger.
  5. Brian Hoff – @behoff – Designer, writer, speaker.
  6. Elliot Jay Stocks – @elliotjaystocks – Designer, speaker, author.
  7. Ryan Carson – @ryancarson – Founder of Carsonified.
  8. Chris Coyier – @chriscoyier – Blogger, web design expert.
  9. Cameron Moll – @cameronmoll – Designer, speaker, author.
  10. Chris Spooner – @chrisspooner – Designer, blogger.

Founders

  1. Biz Stone – @biz – Co-founder, Twitter.
  2. Evan Williams – @ev – Co-founder, Twitter.
  3. Chad Hurley – @chad-hurley – Co-founder, YouTube / Delicious CEO.
  4. Steve Case – @stevecase – Founder of AOL / Investor, LivingSocial and Zipcar.
  5. Jason Fried – @jasonfried – Founder of 37Signals.
  6. Naveen Selvadurai – @naveen – Co-founder, FourSquare.
  7. Dharmesh Shah – @dharmesh – Founder/CTO of Hubspot.
  8. Loic Le Mur – @loic – Seesmic founder.
  9. Rand Fishkin – @randfish – Founder and CEO of SEOmoz.
  10. Mark Pincus – @markpinc – Co-founder, Zynga.

Social Media

  1. Jeremiah Owyang – @jowyang
  2. Mari Smith – @marismith – Social media speaker.
  3. We Are Social – @wearesocial – Helping brands engage in social media.
  4. Dave Peck – @davepeck – Interactive marketing geek.
  5. Klout – @klout – Measuring online influence.
  6. Mashable – @mashable – Largest indie social media blog.
  7. Sarah Evans – @prsarahevans – PR / social media correspondant.
  8. Louis Gray – @louisgray – Tech blogger.
  9. Connie Bensen – @cbensen – Sr. community strategist at Dell.
  10. Scott Monty – @scottmonty – Head of social media at Ford.

Big Tech Companies

  1. Google – @google
  2. Intel – @intel
  3. Facebook – @facebook
  4. Amazon – @amazon
  5. Cisco Systems – @ciscosystems
  6. Adobe – @adobe
  7. Microsoft – @microsoft
  8. LinkedIn – @linkedin
  9. HP – @hp
  10. Oracle – @oracle

Tech News

  1. Wired – @wired
  2. The Next Web – @thenextweb
  3. Ars Technica – @arstechnica
  4. VentureBeat – @venturebeat
  5. GigaOm – @gigaom
  6. PandoDaily – @pandodaily
  7. Techcrunch – @techcrunch
  8. CNET – @cnetnews
  9. NY Times Bits Blog – @nytimesbits
  10. Kotaku – @kotaku

Gadgets / Hardware

  1. Technology Review – @techreview
  2. Engadget – @engadget
  3. Gizmodo – @gizmodo
  4. SlashGear – @slashgear
  5. Gizmag – @gizmag
  6. GeekSugar – @geeksugar
  7. Techdirt – @techdirt
  8. AppleInsider – @appleinsider
  9. Singularity Hub – @singularityhub
  10. DVICE – @dvice

Miscellaneous / Overflow

  1. Marissa Mayer – @marissamayer – VP, Google.
  2. John Batelle – @johnbattelle – Founder, Federated Media.
  3. Tim Berners-Lee – @timberners_lee – Director of the W3C.
  4. Bill Gross – @bill_gross – Founder of Idealab.
  5. Dave Winer – @davewiner – Entrepreneur and software developer.
  6. Maria Popova – @brainpicker – Writer for WiredUK, The Atlantic.
  7. Jimmy Wales – @jimmy_wales – Co-founder, Wikipedia.
  8. Craig Newmark – @craignewmark – Craigslist founder.
  9. Chris Brogan – @chrisbrogan – Tech consultant to Fortune 500 companies.
  10. John Gruber – @daringfireball – Opinions of an Apple enthusiast.

There are 4 comments. Comment?

  • I’d like to add Daniel Ionescu from PC World. There isn’t a better editor when it comes mobile technology such as tablets, smartphones and mobile apps. I test out 100s of different types of software and mobile apps a year. Daniel is the only one I think is even close to my level when it comes to recommending the best mobile apps around. Other editors from the web (including other PC World editors) just seem to find articles written by others then slap their name on the article. And most others recommending the best mobile apps tend to use an app once then write their best apps list based on initial use. Jill Duffy of PC Mag is a fine example of someone you don’t want to take advice from when it comes to mobile apps. She is just awful and a reason why PC Mag can’t catch up to PC World in popularity when it comes to mobile technology.

  • Every time I see a list like this I get so discouraged there are very few women on it. Where is Molly Wood for example (CNET)? I guess this means not much has changed since the 70’s. : (

Comments are closed.

Top recommendations for you: